Blockbuster is charging HOW MUCH for a video game rental?!

I swung by Blockbuster on my way home tonight, thinking I would rent Punch-Out!! for my Wii this Memorial Day weekend. The game is brand new, so I was a little surprised to find it still available for rent. I plucked it from the shelf and brought it up front, but stopped in my tracks right before I made it to the register. That’s when I caught sight of the prices posted on the wall.

NINE DOLLARS for a 5-day video game rental! It’s fair to say that I haven’t tried to rent a video game in years, but has it really come to this? When I was growing up, renting a video game from the local Movie Time was significantly cheaper than renting a movie, not TWICE THE PRICE. They want me to pay 20% of the retail price just to borrow the game for five lousy days?

I made some loud comments to that effect and marched the game right back to the shelf, against the protests of my fiancee. It was my birthday and she wanted me to not worry about the price and just get the game I wanted. But if I paid that ransom, I knew that visions of Blockbuster executives laughing, smoking cigars, and counting my money would have filled my head for the rest of the weekend, preventing the kind of concentration necessary to ever learn King Hippo’s new moveset. I didn’t even rent the game, and I’m still mad enough to post this rant on my blog!

How much longer til Blockbuster is out of business?

One Response to Blockbuster is charging HOW MUCH for a video game rental?!

  1. I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your web site. Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility problems? A couple of my blog readers have complained about my site not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox. Do you have any ideas to help fix this issue?

Leave a Reply

